Thursday, October 7, 2010

Cengage Learning Webinar Series

Cengage Learning is sponsoring a number of Webinars for high school psychology teachers. The series highlights Stephen Franzoi of Marquette University and Kristin Whitlock of Viewmont High School, Bountiful, UT. Below you will find information on each Webinar session.

Title: Psychology: Promoting Critical Thinking While Linking to the National Standards

Description: This workshop will help high school teachers link the use of the American Psychological Association's National Standards for High School Psychology Curricula in their courses to critical thinking exercises easily implemented into their curriculum. After a review of the structure of the National Standards, specific exercises will be presented.

Presenter: Kristin Whitlock, Psychology Teacher and Chair of the Working Group for the Revised High School Psychology Standards

Date/Time: October 19, 2010: 3:00 pm Eastern/12:00 pm Pacific Register now.
Date/Time: November 17, 2010: 6:00 pm Eastern/3:00 pm Pacific
Register now.

Title: Psychology: Encouraging Students to Identify With Course Material Through Self-Discovery Exercises

Description: Psychology, as a science and as a high school course, is a journey of discovery undertaken by both researchers and students. By regularly encouraging students to consider how psychological knowledge relates to their own lives, you place their learning experience within a personally relevant context that enhances learning of course material, while also fostering self-insights that can be applied to their daily living. Learn how Stephen Franzoi, author of Psychology: A Discovery Experience, facilitates this personal journey of discovery in his psychology classes and in his psychology textbooks.

Presenter: Stephen Franzoi, Author

Date/Time: October 26, 2010: 3:00 pm Eastern/12:00 pm Pacific Register now.
Date/Time: October 26, 2010: 6:00 pm Eastern/3:00 pm Pacific
Register now.

Title: Psychology: How Do People Think and Behave Differently in Individualist and Collectivist Cultures?

Description: Two belief systems that are important to understanding the psychology of human behavior are individualism and collectivism. This webinar will discuss how the psychology of people from different cultures differs due to their individualist-collectivist bents and how this understanding will enrich your students' learning.

Presenter: Stephen Franzoi, Author

Date/Time: December 9, 2010: 4:00 pm Eastern/1:00 pm Pacific Register now.

These webinars will be conducted via conference call and WebEx. In order to participate, you must have an Internet connection and a separate phone line. Posted by Kent Korek.

No comments: